Onyx Moon
Perfect Truth
The Mystery
Image Gallery
 Elders of the Onyx Moon

Lady ~ High Priestess

The physical representation of the Goddess {or deities} in ritual

Magus  ~ The High Priest

Master of Ceremonies in ritual ~ {originally a member of an ancient Persian clan specializing in cultic activities; the magi were a priestly caste during the Seleucid, Parthian, and Sasanian dynasties, and parts of the Avesta are probably derived from them. Their priesthood is believed to have served several religions, includingZoroastrianism. From the 1st century AD onward, the word magus in its Syriac form (magusai) was applied to magicians and soothsayers}

4 Guardians ~ call the quarters

In ceremonial and derived neopagan magical tradition the Guardians are the tutelary spirit of one of the four cardinal points or "quarters" (north, east, south, and west). They are also variously associated in many traditions with each the four classical elements (earth, air, fire, and water) and stars (Fomalhaut, Aldebaran, Regulus, and Antares). The Spirits are evoked during the ritual of casting a magic circle.

Aldebaran {Tascheter}               ~ Watcher of the East the dominant star in the Taurus  {marked the vernal equinox}

Regulus {Venant}                        ~ Watcher of the North the dominant star in the Leo  {marked the summer solstice}

Antares {Satevis}                         ~ Watcher the West and was the alpha star in Scorpio {marked autumnal equinox}

Fomalhaut {Haftorang/Hastorang}  ~ Watcher of the South was the brightest star in Piscis  {marked  winter solstice}

The four dominant stars have an apparent magnitude of 1.5 or less. The reason why they are called "Royal" is that they appear to stand aside from the other stars in the sky. The four stars, Aldebaran, Regulus, Antares, Fomalhaut, are the brightest stars in their constellations, as well as being part of the twenty five brightest stars in the sky, and were considered the four guardians of the heavens. They marked the seasonal changes of the year and marked the equinoxes and solstices. 

While watching the sky, the dominant star would appear in its season, each having a time of the year when most noticeable.

 Regulus was seen as the main star because it was in the constellation of Leo, giving it the power of the lion, signifying the strength of kings with large implications.

The constellations of the Royal Stars were said to be fixed because their positions were close to the four fixed points of the sun's path. The sun was then surrounded by four bright stars at the beginning of every season. From this observation individuals began to denote them the Royal Stars

By 700 BCE the Nineveh and Assyrians had essentially mapped the ecliptic cycle because of the four stars and were in result able to map the constellations, distinguishing them from the planets and the fixed stars.

From this, in 747 BCE the Babylonian King Nabu-nasir adopted a calendar derived from information based on the four stars, one following an eight-year cycle and one a nineteen-year cycle (later adopting the nineteen-year calendar as standard).

The Royal Stars were used primarily for navigation. They were also believed to govern events in the world. Major disasters, breakthroughs, and historical phenomenon were seen as caused by the stars and their alignment in the sky during the time in which the event occurred.

When the stars were aligned accordingly, favourable conditions followed, and when they were negatively aligned, disaster was predicted.

Because Regulus was the most influential of the Royal Stars, events that took place while Regulus was in dominance were amplified and grave, foreshadowing destruction.

HomeEldersCovenPerfect TruthThe MysteryImage Gallery